Fitness

Peloton Cycling

Tired this morning from a late night with my friends, I was less than thrilled to leave my house to attend a group fitness class. However, I knew that a quick workout would help me shake off the exhaustion and brighten my mood, so I opted for an in-home workout. I mentally ran through my list of favorite at home workouts: running, Tabata circuits, or biking. I was looking for something that would pep me up and make me sweat without requiring too much thought, and a Peloton class fit that criteria perfectly.

If you’ve never heard of the Peloton Bike, it is a stationary spin bike that one can purchase and install in his or her home. What sets the Peloton bike apart from your average stationary bike, though, is the screen at the front, that plays an unlimited number of spin and workout classes on demand, allowing you to get the studio experience from the comfort of your own home. Although the bike was a Christmas gift from my mom to my dad, it has become a regular part of my workout routine as much as his, mostly due to its sheer simplicity and convenience. All you have to do is strap on your cycling shoes, clip into the bike, select an instructor and class, and give the bike your all. There’s no driving or parking, no crammed locker area, no extra fee for towels and water, and best of all, no chance of running into that person you really didn’t want to see when you’re all sweaty. Yup, we’ve all been there.

On the Peloton Bike, a rider can choose from a variety of types of classes, ranging from HIIT to Tabata to arms, as well as a number of themed rides, all at different lengths, and from different instructors. My personal favorite instructor is Jess King, and her 45 minute Tabata ride is absolutely killer; talk about a burn. I love her playlists, and the enthusiasm and intensity she brings to each ride is unparalleled by the other instructors that I have tried.

My all time favorite thing about the Peloton bike, however, is its ability to keep you motivated and engaged throughout your workout, even without the extra push from fellow athletes that you get in a live class. Along the bottom of the screen are areas that display distance, cadence, output, calories burned, and resistance. Throughout a class, the instructor refers to these numbers, encouraging you to meet a certain cadence or resistance, and causing you to keep pushing toward a goal. Also, on the right side of the screen is a leaderboard, that compares you to other athletes who have taken the class, ranking each rider on overall output. These numbers help me to stay motivated, pushing me toward personal records, and class standards, and causing me to feel the same intensity that I would feel in a packed studio class.

Peloton also has great “Beyond the Ride” services that can be accessed from the bike, or the Peloton iPhone app, which include full body cardio and strength classes, as well as pre and post ride yoga and stretching routines. Today, after my spin class, I hopped off the bike for a full body “Beyond the Ride” class which utilized dumbbell and body weight movements to give a little extra oomph to the areas that don’t get as much attention on the bike, such as arms and core.

So if you’re an athlete who craves the intensity of a packed spin class, but lead a busy life that makes it difficult for you to get to the studio, or simply prefer to get fit from home, the Peloton bike makes tackling a home workout fun, fast, and stress free.

 

Leave a Reply

